Facilities management certification compared: FMP, CFM and SFP

What FMP, CFM and SFP each involve, who they suit, the UK IWFM route, and what none of them teach about workplace data.

facilities management certifications cover

FMP, CFM and SFP keep turning up in facilities job adverts. They come from the same body and suit different points in a career. Here is what each one is, who it is for, and what none of them will teach you.

The short version
  • FMP is coursework with no prerequisites. It suits people early in a facilities management career.
  • CFM is an exam for experienced managers. It needs years in the job and must be renewed.
  • SFP is a sustainability specialism, also coursework, also open to anyone.
  • In the UK, IWFM qualifications run from Level 2 to Level 7 and are assessed on real work.

What FMP stands for and who it suits

FMP means Facility Management Professional. It is issued by IFMA, the International Facility Management Association.

The programme has four modules: Finance and Business, Operations and Maintenance, Leadership and Strategy, and Project Management. Each module ends in a final assessment, and you apply for the credential once all four are passed. IFMA states there are no educational or experience prerequisites. That makes it the natural first step for a coordinator or new facilities manager. The page does not describe a renewal cycle; it lists a lifetime entry in IFMA’s credential registry on completion.

CFM certification: the experienced manager’s exam

CFM is Certified Facility Manager, also from IFMA. There is no course. It is an exam, and you must qualify to take it.

IFMA lists two routes in: three years of facilities management experience with a bachelor’s or master’s degree in FM, or five years of industry experience. The exam runs for three hours with 120 multiple choice questions, 20 of which are unscored pretest items. It covers ten domains, including finance, operations, risk, real estate, sustainability and facility technology and data management. Within 30 days of passing you complete an ethics assessment or submit ethics coursework. The credential is valid for three years and is maintained by earning continuing education units.

CFM suits someone who already runs a site or a portfolio and wants proof of judgement, not just study.

SFP certification: the sustainability route

SFP is Sustainability Facility Professional, the third IFMA credential. Like FMP it is coursework with no prerequisites. The programme is fully online, arranged in three units and twelve chapters, with unit exams followed by a final integrated assessment that is marked pass or fail.

IFMA calls it a lifetime credential, and you have a year from enrolment to finish, with one six-month extension available on request. It suits a manager who owns energy, waste or building performance targets.

UK and other routes: IWFM and BOMI

If you work in the UK, the local body is IWFM, the Institute of Workplace and Facilities Management. Its qualifications run from Level 2 to Level 7. IWFM describes Level 2 as for people new to the profession, Level 3 for first-line managers and supervisors, Level 4 for operational managers, Level 5 for specialists and middle or senior managers, and Levels 6 and 7 for senior professionals working on planning and strategy. They are regulated, come in Award, Certificate, Diploma and Extended Diploma sizes, and most assessment is work-based.

IWFM also has a Certified grade of membership, CIWFM. The experiential route is for people in senior or strategic roles and is assessed by four submitted tasks plus a professional discussion with an assessor, with up to twelve months to complete.

In North America, BOMI (part of BOMA) offers the FMA, Facilities Management Administrator, aimed at assistant facility managers, facility managers and people responsible for daily operations. It needs six required courses, two electives, a two-hour 100-question capstone exam and three years of verifiable facilities experience. Its sibling RPA, Real Property Administrator, is the property management equivalent. Neither page describes a renewal requirement.

CredentialIssuerWho it is forPrerequisiteFormatRenewal
FMPIFMAEarly and mid-career FM professionalsNoneFour modules, four final assessmentsNone stated; lifetime registry listing
CFMIFMAExperienced facility managers3 years plus FM degree, or 5 years experienceThree-hour, 120-question exam plus ethics stepEvery three years via CEUs
SFPIFMASustainability-focused FM professionalsNoneThree online units, unit exams, final assessmentLifetime credential
IWFM Levels 2 to 7IWFM (UK)Entry level through to senior strategy rolesNone; start at the level that fitsMandatory and optional units, mostly work-based assessmentNot stated on the page
FMABOMI / BOMAAssistant and facility managers running daily operations3 years verifiable FM experienceSix courses, two electives, capstone examNot stated on the page

How to choose

Match the credential to your career stage, your employer and your region.

  • Under three years in, or moving in from office management: FMP, or IWFM Level 3 or 4 in the UK.
  • Running sites or a portfolio with five years behind you: CFM, or CIWFM through the experiential route.
  • Carrying energy or ESG targets: SFP.
  • North American and property-led: look at BOMI’s FMA alongside the IFMA options.
  • Ask your employer which names appear in their job descriptions and which they will fund. That answer usually settles it.

Region matters. IWFM’s framework is the one UK employers tend to write into job specs, while IFMA travels further. Providers running integrated facility management contracts often ask for both.

What the certifications do not teach

All of these programmes cover finance, operations, projects and leadership. What none of them can do is teach you the data your own buildings produce.

Modern facilities work runs on booking records, occupancy readings and utilisation reports. Knowing which floors empty out by Thursday, which rooms are booked and never used, and how much space a team actually needs is learned from the systems, not the syllabus. Some of that sits in CAFM and IWMS tools; the rest lives in the booking and space management software people use every day. A certificate gets you in the room. Reading the numbers is what keeps you there.

Frequently asked questions

What does FMP mean?

FMP stands for Facility Management Professional. It is an IFMA credential earned by passing the final assessments of four modules, with no experience or education prerequisites.

Is CFM harder than FMP?

They are different things. FMP is coursework you study and are assessed on. CFM is a timed exam that requires years of experience just to sit, and it expires after three years unless you earn continuing education units.

Do I need FMP before CFM?

No. IFMA’s CFM eligibility is based on experience and education, not on holding the FMP first. Many people do both, but the FMP is not a prerequisite.

Which facilities management certification is best in the UK?

IWFM qualifications are the UK’s own framework and are written into many UK job specifications. IFMA credentials are still recognised, so the practical answer is whichever your employer names and will fund.

Sources